Oxford-Cambridge Arc

The Oxford-Cambridge Arc (the Arc) is a globally significant area that formed of five counties:

  • Oxfordshire
  • Bedfordshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Cambridgeshire. 

The Arc area provides a place to live for approximately 3.7 million residents and supports over 2 million jobs. Adding over £110 billion in economic output every year, it is home to one of the fastest growing economies in England. It is home to cutting-edge research, globally renowned science and technology clusters. It contains a vibrant natural environment, world-leading universities, and a rich cultural heritage.

The ambition for the Arc is to build a better economic, social and environmental future for the cities, towns and rural communities across the area.

The Opportunity Area (OA) is jointly funding a project with the Government Equalities Office (GEO) that will link the high quality businesses attracted to the Arc with careers leaders in schools.

The project will work with pupils as well as school staff to inspire young people to pursue a STEM career by raising their awareness of regional job opportunities that exist in STEM sectors, within the Arc. The project will target female pupils specifically, as they may not traditionally have been encouraged to engage in STEM subjects but can be inspired by existing female role models in these sectors.

The project will also support young people to understand the skills and qualifications required to secure a STEM career so that they are attracted to jobs in the Arc area and therefore support talent retention across the five counties.

%d bloggers like this: